After Kate Tempest

I just saw Kate Tempest and Luke Wright perform at the Cheltenham literary festival, and have been reading Tempest’s book in the streetlight glow in the back of the car. She seems somewhat like a mad prophet full of beats and I feel instantly inspired. I don’t usually put poetry up here, but I just thought that at this moment it is appropriate.

 

After Kate Tempest

 

Watching stamping Caliban onstage/

Talking through rage ecstasy love/

Taking me from fetid below to stars above and back again/

Landing, two-footed, on the ground/

Her entire body inhabiting the sound I think I have found someone else/

Someone else/

Speaking truth from the heart and I remember all the reasons/

That I love my art.

 

Meredith Debonnaire

Leave a Reply

