Holiday Reading

So I know I promised proper reviews, but I lost the one I was writing and haven’t re-started it yet. However, to keep you going, here are three word reviews of all the books that I read while I was on my holiday/retreat the other week.

The Foreshadowing by Marcus Sedgewick

Eerie, bright, surprising.

 

The Sleeping Army by Francesca Simon

Fast, funny, touching.

 

Movement in Black by Pat Parker

Big, bold, beautiful.

 

Skylark by Meagan Spooner

Woven, dystopian, hopeful.

 

Kill the Dead by Richard Kadrey

Pacy, grimy, fun.

 

Who I was by Meg Rosoff

Idyllic, nailbiting, oceanic.

 

Memorial by Alice Oswald

Atmospheric, sparking, stygian.

 

Moxyland by Lauren Beukes

Biting, clever, riotous.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. peterosser
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 09:49:26

    Stygian? Is that good or bad? Phrygian is an interesting mode in jazz. Styx were a terrible USA softrock band of the late 1970s. And surely it’s difficult to be dystopian and hopeful at the same time. 3word review of your blog – intermittent, dialectical, carnivorous.

    Reply

    • Meredith
      Oct 08, 2014 @ 15:56:11

      I know you know what stygian means; I’ve heard you use it! When you say interesting, do you mean loud and chaotic? I’m curious as to how my blog is carnivorous…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

