Surprisingly exciting update

Ola!

I have been super duper busy and not actually writing this blog at all. Here’s a little update of what I’m up to and what I’m working on.

Published! (sort of). I have mentioned Stroud Short Stories before – it’s a local event where writers read their short stories. I’ve been in it twice. Recently, they put together an anthology. It’s a self-publishing deal that’s likely to only sell locally, and us authors are not actually being paid (although we do retain all copyright etc). However, it’s still pretty exciting to be in print! Actual real print! *Does a little dance* I have two short stories in there, and I’ve been flicking through and reading the others. A real mix, but lots of fun. More about Stroud Short Stories here.

SSS front cover by Tom Brown

Look at the gorgeous cover!

 

Reading. I have just finished Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrel by Susanna Clarke, and have started writing a review. I’m very very excited about the BBC adaptation that starts on Sunday. I have also recently read Dreadnought by Cherie Priest, Strata by Terry Pratchett and Once Upon a Time by Marina Warner. Reviews of some or all to follow.

RatQueens volume 2! I got my copy yesterday and read it all. Holy hell it’s hot! Have I mentioned that I love Rat Queens? You should all go out and buy Rat Queens. Review to follow when I’ve calmed down enough to be coherent about this totally awesome series.

Discovered. A brilliant webcomic about macho macho men – I read the entire archive in one sitting and scared my lodger by alternating between cackling like a maniac and quietly crying. It may look as though it is all one offs, but read from the beginning and there is some pretty intense storyline… Check it out here.

Fighting through my proofreading course. Time Time Time, why don’t you love me? Why can’t I fit everything in? Sigh…

Aside

Leave a Reply

