Just finished the Imperial Radch Trilogy

covers for Ancillary Justice, Ancillary Sword and Ancillary Mercy

So this is not really a review… It’s a sort of, kind of review. The Imperial Radch Trilogy consists of Ancillary Justice, Ancillary Sword and Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie. I wrote a review of Ancillary Justice here.

It took me ages to get around to reading Ancillary Mercy, so by this summer I though ‘eh, what the hell, I have time, I’ll re-read the first two books and then read the last one’. Now let me tell you, that was one hell of a ride! I had forgotten how absolutely amazing Ancillary Justice was, and reading Ancillary Sword again straight after was brilliant. Ancillary Mercy blew my mind. Just, completely blew it. I was finishing it while on a train home from Glasgow, and I nearly missed my changes twice – this is quite a big deal as I am obsessive about not missing my stops on trains. I was literally sat on a platform in Cheltenham, about twenty pages from the end, weeping while I read, happened to look up and realised that my train had just pulled in and had to sprint to get on it. I should point out at this point that I had one enormous rucksack, a handbag and a canvas bag full of books, so sprinting was a bit of a challenge.

Of course, I went right back to reading it and cried some more (mainly happy tears) and nearly missed my home station. I cannot actually imagine a better end to this series – it was wonderful and perfect and brilliant. So if you haven’t done it already, go forth and read this series because it is beautiful, clever, heartfelt and so so so good. I’m not sure I can say anymore without accidental spoilers…

Also, I recently discovered fanart for this series, and lost about five hours of my life to tumblr… Go check it out, there is some lovely stuff there.

If you have read this series and want to chat about it, go ahead and leave me comments! I may be slow to reply, but I will reply and I’d love to talk about it 🙂

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

