News and squealing

Hellooo! I know I know, I’m not very good at this whole ‘blogging regularly thing’. I figure if you’re still following me after all this time you’ve worked this out.

So anyway, here is a quick listy of the literary(?) things that are going on in my life at the moment:

Writing news: I have just finished the first draft of a short story (okay, it’s not that short, it’s about 12,000 words), and I have printed it out, put it in a folder and hidden it under the bed where it is going to stay for at least a month while I gain the distance necessary for editing. I’m finding this hard because I’m very excited about this story, and I just want to to dive back in there. The space, however, is very important. In the meantime, I’m drastically re-vamping an older story of mine that I found a while back and which I think has a lot of potential. Hopefully, I can get this done in the month while the first story is Under The Bed, and maybe have it in shape for sending to submissions by December. Hopefully…

Reading: I have just read The Red Virgin and the Vision of Utopia by Mary M. Talbot and Bryan Talbot. It’s the first thing I’ve read by them, and I really enjoyed it. I may well write a review in the near future. I’m also reading Women in Dark Times by Jacqueline Rose, which I can only handle in ten to fifteen page bundles at a time, mainly because I end up full of impotent rage…

Excited about: I’ve ordered my copy of A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers and I am very very very excited about it! I shall have it in the next few days! *dances*

And that’s me for now – more news to follow as and when.

šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

