Books I got at Christmas

Hello all, and a happy new year to you! I thought, just for fun, that I’d put up a little list of the books that various friends and family have given to me for Christmas (thank you friends and family!). I may not review all of them, but maybe you’ll see something you like the look of anyway.

  • The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor. Thoughts: I’ve just finished this and there’s a review upcoming – definitely read it!
  • Hurricane Heels by Isabel Yap. Thoughts: super excited about this one, and very glad I held off on buying my own copy (although I could have just given the extra one to a friend).
  • Memoirs of a Spacewoman by Naomi Mitchison. Thoughts: I’m looking forward to this – it seems like it’s going to be both thoughtful and funny (always a good combination).
  • Saints and Adventurers by Frances Gapper. Thoughts: I’ve not had much of a look at this, but it’s published by The Women’s Press so chances are I’ll enjoy it.
  • What If? by Randall Munroe. Thoughts: FINALLY MY OWN COPY! THANK YOU, OH AWESOME ONE WHO GIFTED ME THIS 🙂
  • Utopia by Thomas More, Introduction by China Miéville, Essays by Ursula K. Le Guin. Thoughts: I’ll need a quiet week for this one, but it should be interesting.
  • The Ultra Fabulous Glitter Squadron Saves the World Again by A.C. Wise. Thoughts: I’ll probably save this one for when I need cheering up. It looks like a cheering up sort of book.
  • The Faber Book of Utopias edited by John Carey. Thoughts: another one that will need some free time for reading, but pretty excited for it 😀
  • The Second Mango by Shira Glassman (technically a pre-Christmas present). Thoughts: so. damn. lovely. I will probably review this properly at some point, but I can tell you that it is awesome. Feel-good fantasy brilliance with lesbians, Jewish culture, food intolerance and a horse that is sometimes a dragon…

And there we have it! I also did some re-reading over the holidays, notably Witch Child by Celia Rees (which I have loved since I was about thirteen and still do), Sorceress by Celia Rees (sequel to the above) and The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison, which was just as wonderful and brilliant as the first time I read it.

Until next time, take care and enjoy this picture of me stealing my friend’s fantastic hat – it has lights!

Meredith debonnaire with fab hat

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lewis Williams
    Jan 02, 2017 @ 02:10:27

    And thank you for the books you got for me! Starting one now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

