Book Review: The Good, The Bad and The Smug by Tom Holt

the good the bad and the smug by tom holt

The good guys are good and their hats are white as snow.

This book deserves a laugh track. I’m not sure how to review it: I wish I had recorded myself reading it and you could just have a video of me laughing a lot. It’s wonderful. A bit Pratchett-esque in terms of humour, but very different in other ways. It’s also apparently part of a series…? I just googled and I’m now confused, but I read this as a standalone and it worked for me. I really hate when books are not labelled as being in a series *grumble grumble grumble*

Anyway, there is: Mordak, king of the Goblins, who is trying so hard to get the goblins to understand the idea of New Evil (it’s like Old Evil, but a bit sneakier and with better PR); there’s a man who might be Rumplestiltskin really messing up the human economy (because he spins straw into gold, and then the price of straw goes up, the soldiers want paying in silver and the princes start plotting to set fire to each others’ straw); there’s an elf who just wants to be the editor of The Horrible Yellow Face (formerly The Beautiful Golden Face), which everyone agrees is the best paper around on account of how it never prints facts (journalists don’t). Unfortunately, Mordak now owns all the newspapers so they can only print what he wants (an act of warfare against the Elves, obviously). And there’s a quest to find the truth, if only anyone could figure out what that meant. And where the goblins are disappearing to. And why the Dark Lord is crying about curtains and trying to design a logo for evil (his choices are a rose or an oak in a field. For those who don’t know, the rose is the Labour party symbol, the oak in a field in the Tory party symbol. This kind of stuff happens all the time and I loved it).

Bits of it fell flat, and there’s a whole portal thing going on that I don’t quite have time to explain but which I enjoyed. Overall, this was a decent read. Nothing mind-blowing, but good for a quiet night in.

Rating: read this book. Finally understand the financial crash! (I’m not joking)

Leave a Reply

