Book Review: The Second Mango by Shira Glassman

The second Mango by shira glassman

Once upon a time, in a lush tropical land of agricultural riches and shining white buildings, there was a young queen who spent the night tied up in a tent, panicking.

Note: the visual above is not the cover, but as I couldn’t find an image for the cover my copy has, I’m using it as the closest thing.

I LOVE this book! It’s warm, a bit silly and full of goodness. There are some proofreading blips, and a few layout problems, but honestly I am forgiving those completely because this book this book this book! It’s basically the book I dreamed of reading when I was about eight and started realising that, in the fantasy books I enjoyed so much, there were an awful lot of women who needed rescuing (I found Tamora Pierce shortly after this). Although there are bits in this book that my eight-year-old self would have thought were gross and that would not have been appropriate at that age (read – sex happens).

Anyway, Queen Shulamit is a lesbian and also severely gluten intolerant. She goes on a quest to find love with Rivka and Rivka’s dragon-horse. Rivka is not the love interest; she is an epic mercenary and they become best friends. I just love it! There’s wonderful friendship, there’s silliness, there’s epic battling and positive queer representation and a fantasy world with Jewish roots and dragons and wizards. It’s so clear that the author really, really enjoyed herself when writing this, which lead to me really enjoying reading it. The characters were really clear, and I liked how their different strengths worked together.

It’s not the most polished book out there, but personally I thought it worked that way. It’s probably not everyone’s cup of tea, but it is absolutely mine.

Rating: read this book, dance with glee!

Leave a Reply

