Book Review: Mother of the Sea by Zetta Elliott

Mother of the Sea, Zetta Elliott, art by Christina Myrvold, image shows black woman holding a child surrounded by ocean

When the skinless men leave, the taste of salt lingers on her lips.

So this is a tiny book – forty-six pages in fact. And it kicked its way through my ribs, grabbed my heart and held. Mother of the Sea is not a history book, (I’d say fantasy/speculative fiction probably) but it is set in one of those places during history that my (school) education never adequately reached, and that is the slave trade.

It’s a story about a girl, waiting in the dark and fearing what will happen. It’s a story about holding on; to hope, maybe, to one’s sense of self. It’s fantastical, slightly, but that doesn’t mean that everything works out. In all honesty, I don’t quite feel qualified to review this book. But it’s amazing, and it made me question things and it made me cry and it’s a good story so I wanted to give it a signal-boost (as they say). Read this: the writing is sharp, the characters are sharper, and there’s a mysterious fish-child onboard the slave ship…

Rating: heart-stompingly good, bring tissues…

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nimue Brown
    Aug 21, 2017 @ 10:10:22

    I’d say read Toni Morrison’s Beloved, only probably don’t, because it will hurt you, and hurt you again and haunt you for the rest of your life….

    Reply

    • Meredith
      Aug 21, 2017 @ 13:21:49

      :s perhaps one day. I read The Bluest Eye years ago, when I was far too young to really understand what was going on. I keep meaning to re-read it, and then not quite doing it…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

